What I did during Atlanta’s Snowpocalypse

Although last week’s winter storm was terrible for many people in the Atlanta metro area (kids trapped at schools overnight, kids trapped on school buses, people stuck in their cars overnight with temps in the low teens), I’m a Missouri girl at heart, and made sure I had a well stocked fridge and pantry so I joyfully looked forward to the snow.  Since we this was the first significant snowfall in a couple of years, I was excited my kids would get to play in the glorious winter weather.

IMG_5171

Since my hubby was home from school all week during Snowpocalypse, I also used this time to make soap, lots, and lots of soap!  I had recently seen a technique on the Soap Queen’s blog called the impressionist swirl, and I was dying to give it a try.  I made two batches using this technique.  The 1st one was scented with lime and lavender (sorry no pics of that one yet), and it came out great.  The 2nd one I did was scented with a certified 100% natural fragrance oil Vanilla Black Currant from Lebermuth.  I love this scent since it’s sweet and creamy, but the vanilla content is low since it does not discolor much in soap, and it doesn’t accelerate trace.

IMG_5272

This technique is very time consuming so make sure you use a recipe that is VERY slow moving since it does take a while to squirt out the soap, and it’s really messy too.

IMG_5274

But, it’s SO worth it!

IMG_5277

IMG_5279

Here’s the final cut bars.   What do you think?

IMG_5280

I think this is a really cool new soaping technique, and I will do it again soon!  My only regret is I didn’t think of using this color combo (cream, pink, and cherry red) about a month sooner.  This would have made a perfect Valentine’s Day soap.

6 thoughts on “What I did during Atlanta’s Snowpocalypse

  1. It looks very dramatic and stunning! I’ve never tried the impressionist technique but it looks fun! I saw in the news about another snow storm hitting the U.S. I hope your kids enjoyed all that snow, and maybe you made more soap? 🙂

    • You should try it when you have a chance! I’ve done 2 impressionist batches and another one that is a small twist on the impressionist technique-hopefully I will get the pics up this week. It’s a fun technique to try, but cleaning out the squeeze bottles is a pain unless you can get the wide mouth kind. We did get another 3 inches of snow last week, and we had a blast before it all melted away. I was able to squeeze in 7 batches last week since I’m getting ready for my spring arts and craft shows so I’d say a pretty good week for snowman building and soaping. 🙂

    • Thank you! I really enjoyed making it but not so much cleaning up afterwards. 🙂 Luckily I was able to find wide-mouth squeeze bottles before I made the next batch of impressionist soap. If you decide to try this technique, definitely get the wide-mouthed squeeze bottles first. They cost a little more, but it makes it soooo much easier to clean the bottles if you can actually get your hand inside of the bottle.
      Happy Soaping!

Leave a Reply

