Drop Swirl Soap Challenge Club

I was looking for a new design technique for an all patchouli scented soap.  I wanted a design that would be reminiscent of hippy imagery or at least of hippy imagery that I had seen in reruns of old shows from that time period of Bewitched, The Partridge Family, The Brady Bunch, etc.  I came across Amy Warden’s Soap Challenge Club during my research, and I knew I found the perfect technique that would look groovy and far out!  Since this was a new technique for me, I decided it was best to practice by making a couple of batches of soap that did not include pachouli.  The patchouli I used is very special since I aged it for 5 years, and I did not want to waste it on a failed batch of soap.

Both of my “practice” batches are scented with citrus essential oils since they have never caused any acceleration in my soaps and would give me plenty of time to do the drop swirls.

The first one is a blend of orange and grapefruit with a touch of lime and litsea cubeba since I find both really help to “anchor” other citrus essential oils.  I think I poured the soap batter at too thin of a trace to be a good representation of what a drop swirl should look like, but I still really like this soap and think it’s really pretty.  It was my hubby’s favorite.

IMG_5552

Next is my patchouli soap.  Although the soap thicken so fast I thought I was going to end with soap on a stick, I did manage to get it into the mold.  The soap did not look like the drop swirl I was going for, but I think it turned out really groovy.  I used colors that were very popular in the late 60’s and early 70’s-avocado green, dark yellow, cherry red, sky blue all to hopefully evoke a memory of all things hippy.  There was a really neat surprise inside two of the bars….can you see the partridge?

IMG_5555

Here’s a close up.

IMG_5556

Next was the other “practice” batch I did.  It was my favorite, and the one I am submitting for my entry for this month’s Soap Challenge Club.  It’s scented with an essential oil blend of bitter almond, lime, manuka, and a touch of ginger and vanilla.

Drop Swirl Tower

I really enjoyed this Challenge and will hopefully do it again soon.  It was so neat to see what soapers from all over the world were making.

9 thoughts on “Drop Swirl Soap Challenge Club

    • Thank you so much! 🙂 I’ve never done a patchouli only scented soap before, and I really wanted it to be something special. When I opened the bottle of patchouli, it was amazing how much it had changed after aging it-so much more mellow and rounded out.

    • Thank you! 🙂 It was so hard to choose between the two citrus batches. My hubby is a graphic artist, and I wasn’t sure whether to go with his choice or my gut feeling. This month’s Soap Challenge has so many awesome soaps that I’m facing a tough bunch, but it sure was fun making all the soaps.

  1. I see tulip flowers in the first soap–very spring-like! I like the other two as well, although I’m not sure that Bewitched, The Brady Bunch, and The Partridge Family are very good representations of the hippy era! That 70s Show isn’t either! Lol!!!

    • Oh, you’re right! 🙂 I never noticed the tulip in the first ones until you mentioned it, but now I can see them too. Sometimes, I think soap patterns/designs are kind of like clouds/stars in that you can see some really neat images in their designs. I did a dark purple & activated charcoal batch a couple of months ago, and a few of the bars looked like they had a dragon blowing smoke on them. Needless to say the dragon bars went fast since a lot of guys thought it was cool to have dragon soap. Since those kind of things are random, they can’t be recreated, but they are so cool!

      • One of my favorite children’s books is “It Looked Like Spilt Milk” by Charles G. Shaw. It’s about seeing objects and animals in cloud formations. Soap swirls are like that; fascinating yet elusive!

  2. How fun!! I love your adventure to finding a hippie design soap! Can’t believe you aged your patchouli for 5 years – that must have taken some serious will power! Love your entry soap with the bright, contrasting colors & swirls – best wishes! Hope you’ll join us again!

    • I purposely left it in the very back of my oil cabinet so I wouldn’t be tempted to use it sooner, but I did have other patchouli that used in the meantime so that helped me to keep my hands off of it. 🙂 I’m so glad you hosted this contest! It has been a lot of fun taking part in it, and I hope to do one again soon.

Leave a Reply

