Easy DIY deodorant recipe

If you are like me, you have been disappointed in other natural deodorant products you have tried.  I have bought everyone I could find, and none of them worked.  I also tried numerous DIY recipes that included varying amounts of baking soda which gave me horrible rashes.   I don’t like or care to use many of the ingredients in traditional deodorants so after a couple of years of research, and experimentation, I came across a recipe that actually WORKS…eureka!!!

This recipe is a liquid deodorant (not antiperspirant), and I had planned to sell this in a roller ball applicator (remember when deodorant was sold in those), but I was unable to find a manufacture that sells the roller ball applicator container in any size larger than .5 oz (for lip gloss) so I decided to give you the recipe so you can make it yourself.  This is very easy, and you don’t have to be a soap maker to do it.

Easy DIY Deodorant

8 oz Rose Water                                                                                                                   3/4 tsp alum powder

Shake until all alum crystals are incorporated. This may take a couple of days of periodic shaking, and the mix may stay cloudy.

100_1445

As long as you don’t add any water, you will not need to add preservatives.

Now alum is not the same thing as aluminum.  Alum (I used McCormicks that I got at the grocery store for less than $4) is a NATURAL salt (not the metal compound of aluminum) that is used for pickling and if you have ever used the deodorant rocks, you used a large alum crystal.  I never liked the rock deodorants since they never worked for me ( I don’t think wetting them devolves enough of the crystal to coat my underarms and keep the stink away), and I find the large rock crystals are really abrasive.  Here are 2 great articles if you want to learn more about alum. http://chemistry.about.com/od/moleculescompounds/f/What-Is-Alum.htm http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alum

For the non-soap makers, Rose Water can be obtained from most health food stores, Whole Foods, and Amazon. Just be careful to find one that is alcohol free & free of synthetic fragrance oils since the underarm area is very sensitive. Many Rose Waters also contain glycerin, sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate, and/or gluconolactone as preservatives, and these are all very gentle paraben free preservatives that I use in my own products.  They are also the only ones that don’t give my kids horrible eczema rashes so I feel fine in saying they work well on sensitive skin.  As far as anything else in the Rose Water, I would not personally recommend it, but I would encourage you to research the other ingredients and use your judgement.

For the soap makers, great Rose Water can be obtained at Brambleberry or WSP.  I have used both of these and really like them.  Other soap supply companies sell floral waters too, but I haven’t tried them.  You can also try other floral waters.  I just had Rose Water on hand since I make a Rose lotion.  I haven’t tried BB’s deodorant additive, but that is another thing you could try if desired.  This has worked great for me so I haven’t needed any additive yet.

This recipe is for personal use only.  I decided against selling it only because I could not find the right applicator.  I wanted the roll-on bottle, but I settled for a spray bottle.  My concern was someone might spray it into their eyes and sue me.

It works best wiped on.  Give the bottle a shake, spray it on a cotton square/ball or your hands and then apply to your underarms.   I found this works for me for at least 24 hours.

Leave a Reply

